Review: Santa’s Woodland Workshop at Centerparcs

Affiliate links in this post will be clearly marked with a * and if you click one of these links I will earn a discount or receive payment.

My family are big fans of visiting Centerparcs. We have taken part in a number of activities in the past but one of our favourites, is visiting Santa’s Woodland Workshop. Our daughter Daisy was just 7 months old when we first visited. We have visited in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. Santa has been visited in Longleat, Woburn and Elveden by us, and we’ve been so pleased with this activity. We’re going back in 2020 and already have our slot booked!

This is our review of Santa’s Woodland Workshop. If you’re reading this as you’ll be visiting Centerparcs soon then be sure to check out what to pack for Centerparcs! Also, if you’re wondering how I can afford to visit Centerparcs so much it is because I get free holidays thanks to matched betting! I save up the money that I make through the year and use some of it to have lovely breaks with my family.

Santa's Woodland Workshop - Daddy and Daisy enjoying her first trip to see Santa!

As you can see we were very excited to get inside! It was raining LOTS on of one the occasions that we visited but it didn’t dampen our spirits or stop us from having fun.

When you first arrive at the entrance to Santa’s Woodland Workshop you see trees decked with snow. I find that each Woodland Workshop is similar, as we’ve visited multiple sites for Winter Wonderland now. Woburn is my favourite, probably because at Longleat they got my daughter’s name wrong!

Take a look at Santa’s Winter Wonderland forest

Santa's Woodland Workshop - The entrance

Then as you go inside these trees create a pathway for you to follow.

Santa's Woodland Workshop - Forest walk

Once you get to the end of the pathway you can see lots of little houses, forming a village. It’s so cute!

Santa's Woodland Workshop - The little post office

There are lots of moving parts, lights and lovely decorations to enjoy here. This little post office was my favourite!

Santa's Woodland Workshop - Exploring

Daisy was fascinated with the moving parts and loved having a look at everything.

Santa's Woodland Workshop - Daisy investigating the little displays

As you can see there was so much to stimulate Daisy. She loved exploring and looking around the forest. It was really nice to start our visit to Santa in this lovely surrounding and each year it feels really magical, whatever age our daughter is.

Santa's Woodland Workshop - Daisy and me with Santa's sleigh

I was really excited for us to get inside…!

Santa's Woodland Workshop - Waiting to go in to see Santa!

It was harder to take lovely photographs to share inside, and also I don’t want to spoil the magic of what is inside Santa’s Woodland Workshop. Suffice to say it is even more beautiful inside and while there I shed a little tear that my baby was finally here after so many years of waiting! You’ll be asked your child’s name and here you can mention anything specific that they’re wanting to ask Santa for etc. I believe we wrote it down, so as not to spoil the magic.

Daisy was in awe of everything and there was no rush to walk through, in our allocated slot, and to get to meet Santa at the end.

You see artificial elves preparing presents and lots of lovely lights and several displays. Then you find yourself in a large, slightly dimly lit room, with a huge clock. This room tells the Centerparcs staff which room your Santa is waiting inside which I find really interesting and well thought out!

What did we think of Santa?

When Daisy met Santa it was wonderful! And so well thought out. There were these low but wide chairs, for parents to sit on, and Santa asked if we wanted him to hold Daisy. I thought this was really thoughtful and perfect to allow parents to choose how they want their photograph to come out. Also, Santa’s elf shook Jingle Bells to get Daisy’s attention before snapping us some lovely photographs!

Santa's Woodland Workshop - You get a picture too - here is a look at ours.

As you can see Daisy was looking right at the camera, as was Santa! 

Cost of Santa’s Woodland Workshop

In 2016 the cost was £13. For 2017 the cost was £14. In 2018 the price was £15. For 2019 the price was £16. It seems to go up by £1 a year, as you can see! This price includes a gift from Santa and a photograph too. I felt that this was a reasonable price as we got to choose from multiple photos to select the best one for us. The toy that Daisy received from Santa has varied each year. One year she received an official reindeer from Centerparcs, another year she received a play shop, and another year she receives a lovely wooden puzzle.

The toys always seem age appropriate which is great. On occasion we have chose to buy extras, spending around £12 for extra photos and a keyring too.

Overall impression of Santa’s Woodland Workshop

We love it! We can’t wait to go back this year. Daisy never gets tired of visiting and it feels magical each year. Daisy is always so entranced by the lights, snow and all the moving parts. I love the inside part of Santa’s Woodland Workshop and I was really emotional as we went around together exploring everything. Every year we visit I cannot believe that another year has passed by and my baby is growing so big and strong!

This year Daisy will be 4 and I can’t wait to see what she thinks of Santa. Each year she is more knowing and I love seeing how different each visit is. Being able to have some nice family photographs taken, and enjoy Santa’s Woodland Workshop, is definitely going to be a staple part of our annual Winter Wonderland visit to Centerparcs.

We will be in Woburn this year, instead of Elveden. We have visited Longleat in the past too. Personally Woburn is my favourite, just because I love the newness of everything and how Santa is by the waterfront. Also, whenever the Winter Wonderland fireworks are on Santa will fly over on a zip-line, which is fun!

Tips for booking:

If you’re looking to book Santa’s Woodland Workshop then pick the date of your choosing. They make sure that the slots aren’t packed and we were able to enjoy the entire walk, and the workshop, while barely seeing other people until we hit the gift shop. It was perfect and all well timed! We are visiting on the Friday morning this time, after check out. I like us to make the most of our final day there and this feels like a fantastic way to start off!

We have visited each year since 2016 with Daisy and are booked to visit again in November 2020 – I can’t wait!

Looking forward to visiting Centerparcs? Check out some of my other posts to find out more!

What to pack for Centerparcs – to save money

Centerparcs Aqua Sana Elveden Forest review

Pottery Painting at Centerparcs

Target Archery at Centerparcs

Review: Centerparcs Waterside Lodge Elveden Forest

Want to see what your lodge looks like? I’ve visited lots of them and have a Centerparcs video playlist showing you inside lots of the different lodges!

If you enjoyed this post I’d love it if you could pin it on Pinterest!

Looking forward to visiting Winter Wonderland at Centerparcs? Find out more about Santa's Woodland Workshop

16 Responses

  1. Virtual Wombat November 3, 2017 / 10:03 am

    Nan usually handles Santa visits in our family. I can’t remember where she’s taking the little demons, but apparently this year I have to go… Humbug…

    • katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:15 pm

      Enjoy it while he still believes! My nephew, 13, told my niece and nephew, 5 and 9, the big secret about Santa recently. little sod!

  2. Dean of Little Steps November 3, 2017 / 10:58 am

    We’ve never been to Centerparcs but this looks like so much fun. Must check them out and maybe start some planning!

    • katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:16 pm

      We’ve just had another week there and it was fantastic!

  3. Anosa November 3, 2017 / 2:35 pm

    I can not remember the last time I visited centrepacs but would love to take my nephew as this would be epic and he would just have the best time ever

    • katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:16 pm

      It is so lovely for little ones isn’t it!

  4. missviclb November 3, 2017 / 10:16 pm

    Absolutely adorable!! I’ve never been but it looks like a lovely place!

    • katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:17 pm

      We’ve just had another week there and it was lovely!

  5. Laura - Dear Bear and Beany November 4, 2017 / 7:05 am

    We love centre parcs, but we haven’t been at Christmas before. It looks like they do a great job at making a magical experience for children. I love Christmas and seeing it through my girls eyes x

    • katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:17 pm

      They really do – we’ve had the best years there the last two years! Looking forward to going back again next year!

  6. Out Of Depth Dad November 4, 2017 / 8:54 pm

    I always hear great things about Centre Parcs – I’ve never been! This seems to be a great attraction for Christmas.

    • katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:19 pm

      It is absolutely lovely and so much fun for children!

  7. katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    It is absolutely lovely! So fun!

  8. katykicker November 19, 2017 / 12:20 pm

    It is absolutely lovely for Children at Christmas time. We’ve just been and have had a great time again!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.